+27 (31) 260 3201

+27 (31) 260 3217


Welcome to the Discipline of Mechanical Engineering

Welcome to the Discipline of Mechanical Engineering

We are a discipline within the University of KwaZulu-Natal’s School of Engineering and our standard undergraduate offering is the 4-year BScEng (Mechanical) degree.

The Discipline of Mechanical Engineering is one of 7 disciplines in the School of Engineering. The graduate and postgraduate students are trained to become top quality engineers. Our degree is fully accredited by the Engineering Council of South Africa (ECSA) under the Washington Accord. This means that the UKZN Mechanical Engineering degree is unconditionally accepted in leading nations including Australia, Canada, Ireland, Japan, New Zealand, Singapore, the United Kingdom and the United States. During ECSA’s recent 5-yearly visit our dedicated staff once again ensured that accreditation was successfully renewed until 2025.

At present we are home to 450 undergraduate students and 50 postgraduates pursuing Masters and Doctoral degrees. If you are a prospective student you will find useful information about our programme on this website, including the steps required for application.

Academics in Mechanical Engineering are engaged in cutting-edge research activities. Please visit the webpages of our various groups and let their work inspire you! Our researchers are leading the way in diverse fields including mechatronics, manufacturing, aerospace propulsion systems and structural mechanics. If you are looking to equip yourself for a bright future amid the 4th Industrial Revolution, come and join us!

The Discipline Mechanical Engineering comprises of Academic staff, Administration staff and Technical staff and together form a team that delivers excellent education and training to all students. The Discipline of Mechanical Engineering has some of the most state-of-the-art research and teaching facilities i.e. lecture venues, workshops, computer LAN facilities and research laboratories.

For further information on our teaching or research activities please contact our departmental secretary, Mrs Kogie Naicker, on 031 260 3201.

Dr Mike Brooks
Academic Leader: Mechanical Engineering

Contact Webmaster | View the Promotion of Access to Information Act | View our Privacy Policy
© University of KwaZulu-Natal: All Rights Reserved